Originally collected in 1967 from Papua New Guinea (Rabaul, East New Britain Province), isofemale selection was performed prior to genome sequencing. For more details click here.

Anopheles farauti

Anopheles farauti is a complex of seven species distributed in the Moluccas (Indonesia) and extend eastward through Papua New Guinea (the Admiralty Islands and the Bismarck Archipelago), the Solomon Islands, the New Hebrides (Vanuatu) and Australia. Anopheles farauti sensu stricto (formerly A. farauti 1) is distributed in Papua New Guinea and Australia where it is and it was a malaria vector, respectively.

Genome assemblies and gene sets